Millenials

“Do you see yourself in the description of the millennial generation report and in your quiz response? What do you agree with? What do you disagree with? Why?”

After reading the report, I really do feel like I see myself in the description of the report. Although I’m religious, chances are I’m less religious than generations older than me. I think everyone’s so busy that even those who “believe” in something don’t even make an effort or have the time to get to church on a regular basis. I haven’t served in the military, and I think that most of our generation is choosing or has chose to go after higher education instead. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about getting a tattoo, but I want to make sure I know exactly what I want and where I want it before I just go do it. I’m not worried about my financial future and I think not only will I end up meeting my financial goals but that I will enjoy my job too.
My parents got a divorce when I was young, so I only lived about 8 years of my life with both of them in the same house, and fall into the same category as 40% of others who didn’t have both parents living together during their childhood. I get along fairly well with my parents, and I’d do anything for them as they get older just as they’ve done for me the past 19 years. I respect my elders and try to learn something from them every chance I get.

So, where do my thoughts and beliefs differ? I think that more than 75% of 18-29 year old Americans have created some sort of social networking profile at some point, whether it be on Myspace, Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, or any other of the countless options out there. I’m not sure if I trust government as much as a lot of the other kids my age. For me, it’s just too hard to tell if government-run entities operate better than private ones. For example, how can we really know if socialized health care in Canada is good or bad if we haven’t experienced it ourselves?

Besides those two issues, I feel like the report almost summarized me personally. I really am a Millennial.

About kevinsmithaz

Freshman at U of A. Bear Down. Really into hockey and music. Jeremiah 29:11.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Millenials

  1. kwalker11 says:

    Good response, Kevin. You use your personal experience for evidence and connect it to the report. Great. Try to go further in your analysis of specific points. Maybe only deal with one or two points and analyze them in depth instead of breezing over a whole bunch of them. For example, the issue of religion is really interesting and it would be great to hear more about. Good work. 8

Leave a Reply

